

## **Appointment and Compensation**

## **Appointment**

The Environmental Appeal Board (the "Board") is made up of members appointed by Cabinet. The members consist of a chair, one or more vice chairs, and other members. The Chair and Vice Chair/Registrar work full-time. All other members work part-time.

The Chair is the general administrator of the Board and its office. They are responsible for the overall management, strategic planning, direction, and performance of the Board and its office. The Chair also serves as the Chair of two appeal bodies that work out of the same office: the Forest Appeals Commission and Energy Resource Appeal Tribunal.

The Chair also provides leadership for eight review/appeal bodies, and is responsible for administrative, human resources, and information technology/management for this group. The Chair also encourages the fair and efficient resolution of appeals.

The Chair is chosen based on merit. Their initial term lasts three to five years. Later terms can last up to five years.

Vice chairs and members are responsible for fairly and efficiently deciding appeals assigned to them by the Chair. Vice chairs may fulfill some duties of the Chair, at the request of the Chair or where the Chair cannot complete their duties.

The Vice Chair/Registrar leads the registry shared by the eight review/appeal bodies in the Board's office, under the direction of the Chair. The Vice Chair/Registrar also provides other management and strategic direction for the Board and its office.

The initial terms of vice chairs and members run from two to four years. Later terms can last up to five years. These appointments are made after consultation with the Chair.

The Board and the other appeal bodies are supported by staff who are public service employees.

## Compensation

Pay for members, including the Chair, is set by the Cabinet orders that appoint them. The rates are specified in British Columbia's *Treasury Board Directive 1/24*, based on how it classifies the Board. The Board is in the fourth out of five categories.

Compensation of members for the 2022/2023 fiscal year was as follows:

Commented [DL1]: Please link to document

Revised: October 16, 2023

Full Time Appointees¹						
Member	Compensation		Member	Compensation		
Darrell Le Houillier	\$60,667		David Bird	\$47,677		
Total Remuneration (Fu	\$108,334					

Part time Appointees						
Member	Compensation		Member	Compensation		
Maureen Baird, K.C.	\$8,338		Bijan Pourkarimi	\$706		
Shannon Bentley	\$20,556		Teresa Salamone	\$0		
James Carwana	\$31,925		Howard M. Saunders	\$3,700		
Subodh Chandra	\$1,675		Daphne Stancil	\$25,133		
Brenda L. Edwards	\$14,600		R. Michael Tourigny	\$10,025		
Jeffrey Hand	\$2,325		Diana Valiela	\$33,838		
Gary Lin	\$675		Reid White	\$2,013		
Cynthia Lu	\$8,388		Reginald Whiten	\$2,475		
Linda Michaluk	\$10,173		Robert Wickett, K.C.	\$6,800		
Ian Miller	\$3,204					
Total Remuneration (Pa	\$186,549					
Total Remuneration (Fu	\$294,883					

 $<sup>^{1}</sup>$  Reimbursement for the full-time appointees is split evenly between the three appeal bodies over which these appointees are responsible: the Environmental Appeal Board, the Forest Appeals Commission, and the Oil and Gas Appeal Tribunal.